The Stout Hall of Fame

After careful consideration, the time has come to nominate and induct the inaugural class of the Stout Hall of Fame! The Stout landscape has certainly exploded over the past few years and there are many Stouts worthy of induction. For our inaugural class, I want to recognize the Stouts that started it all! Those who were around 10 years ago when Stouts were only a winter beverage. While a few come to mind, I want your input!

What are your nominations for the OG Class of the Stout Hall of Fame? Send me your nominations using the comment box. I’d like to focus on the Stouts that started this dark journey. Think about what started you down this dark alley…..

Some thoughts on eligibility:

  1. The Stout has to be available for at least 5 years
  2. It has to be available at least regionally, if not nationally
  3. No brewery only releases…..for now!

To whet the whistle, here are some that are bouncing around in my head – in no particular order:

Oskar Blues TENFIDY

CIgar City Hunuapu

Prairie Artisan Ales BOMB!

Goose Island Bourbon County Brand Stout

Perennial Artisan Ales Abraxas

The Bruery Black Tuesday

Alesmith Speedway Stout

Founders Brewing KBS

Surly Brewing Darkness

Epic Brewing Big Bad Baptist

Guinness Stout

Firestone Walker Parabola

I’m sure I missed many – and that’s why I need your input! Tell me what I missed or reinforce my thinking! I expect to induct about 15 to 20 Stouts in this inaugural class, so your comments are welcome and encouraged!

Looking forward to reading your comments!!

Published by stoutwhisperer

I am a regular guy with an irregular affinity for all things Stout related. I enjoy sampling, reviewing and writing about Stouts for my blog, www.stoutwhisperer.com.

Leave a comment